Let’s Dance!

Remember back when I first started this blog and I wrote about refocusing on myself as the New Year was about to begin? Well, so far I’m doing pretty well with 4 of my 5 goals. I’m teaching, blogging, and taking tap. And not only am I back in a regular yoga class, but I’m loving it … I think I’m addicted 🙂

The thing that has not gone as planned is my intent to to get back to the treadmill. Part of the reason is beyond my control…. No, really! I wanted to walk after dinner, but with PER traveling so much these past weeks, there’s no one to watch Aleksander while I sneak down to the basement. I’ve thought about trying to find another time, but….

So now I have a new plan! I absolutely love to dance. But other than my tap class, I hardly have the opportunity to do so. The other day, I was reading someone else’s blog (wish I could remember which one!), and the mom talked about how she dances every afternoon with her kids! What a fabulous idea!! Let’s dance!

At about 4 o’clock each afternoon, I turn on the music, and Aleksander and I dance around the living room. He loves music and he actually loves to dance. He’s only just learned to walk, though, so he still does most of his dancing sitting down. He kind of flails his arms around and bounces on his bum. It’s hysterical! But then he caught me twirling around and walked over to me with wide eyes and arms raised as if to say, “I want to twirl, too!” So around and around we went. It’s so much fun! And even though I’m definitely tired by that time of day, I find the dancing to be really energizing. It feels great 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 20:53:20

    oh yes, dancing is the best time of the day! 🙂 Plus I figure I have a very short while before I lose control of the music selection, so I need to jam in as much Paul Simon into their little heads as possible!

    Reply

    • KateR
      Mar 21, 2011 @ 10:18:08

      Gee, Beth, and I didn’t even think you liked to dance! That’s too funny about the music selection – good point!
      Thanks for leaving a comment!!

      Reply

      • Beth
        Mar 29, 2011 @ 13:13:22

        Oh, I don’t like to dance at parties… but in my living room with my monsters…. now that is the stuff! 🙂

Leave a Reply

