My Favorite Part of the Day

Sometimes the days with Aleksander can be long. Especially when PER has to travel for business, which he does a lot these days. It can feel like I’m just moving from one thing to the next, trying to get through the day. At times, I even find myself counting the hours until bedtime.

But I think it’s important to stop and really appreciate the time I get to spend with Aleksander. There are certain times of the day that I truly cherish. I love getting Aleksander out of bed in the morning. He’s so happy! He doesn’t even want to get out of his crib right away. We have to play with his little froggy first. It’s such a silly, wonderful time. What a perfect way to start the day!

I also particularly enjoy the time before bed. He snuggles in with me while he drinks some milk and has a few crackers. I love to sing to him. He sits quietly and then asks me to sing “a-deh” (again). It’s such a sweet time.

Of course, there are countless other moments in the day that make me smile. It’s thrilling to watch him find joy in so many things. Chasing his ball around the house, hearing his puzzles make animal noises when he puts them in the right place, dancing, knocking down towers, drumming on my baking dishes, or just crawling – and now walking! – around the house. It’s amazing to watch him learn, too. We sing a song that mentions teeth, and he now points to his teeth at that point! There’s another song where I wink at him. He’s trying to mimic me and ends up doing this hilarious squinting thing.

These are the kinds of things I like to keep in mind throughout the day. Then when he’s cranky or having a tantrum moment, it’s a lot easier to keep my cool. It may feel like he turns into a little savage, but underneath he’s still my darling little Sweet Pea!

Question: What are your favorite parts of the day with your little one(s)?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 11:54:45

    Hi Kate!
    The BEST part of my day is picking up the boys from school and daycare. Nothing feels better than to see their little smiling face and hear them yell, “mommie!”

    Also, every night we say grace as a family before meals. The boys are so sweet. One grace is a song and we all hold hands. It is a really special part of the day and it makes the dinnertime squabbles are that sure to follow a little bit easier to take.

    Reply

    • KateR
      Mar 08, 2011 @ 13:14:34

      That’s great, Gretchen! I know what you mean about seeing your kids again. I love coming home to Aleksander after I’ve been out for a couple hours. He’s so happy to see me 🙂 I love your grace before dinner, too. It sounds like a wonderful tradition. So often, it feels like such a rush to get dinner on the table and getting Aleksander fed. It’s not always the most relaxing time for us. It would be nice to take a few moments to stop, breathe, and be thankful before we begin. I’m glad, at least, that we eat dinner together as a family. I guess that’s a start! Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Reply

  2. Laura
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:10:05

    I like the bedtime also (and the time before nap is also good)…
    I used not to like that period around 5 and 6 (the famous witch hour) but now we watch DVD (Backyardigans of course) on the couch and actually is one of my favorites…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

