Homemaker

The term “stay-at-home-mom” has been bothering me for a while. Yes, I’m a mom. Yes, I work from home. But somehow “staying at home” makes it sound a little like I also do this while reclining on the couch eating bon-bons. I most certainly do not! I am a lot more than just a mom, too. I cook, clean, do laundry, get groceries, take out the garbage, and just about everything else that makes our household run. Yes, my wonderful husband pitches in a good bit, too. But my job at home is a lot more than just being a mom to Aleksander.

That is why I am currently opting for the term “homemaker” instead. It sounds a bit old-fashioned, I know. But by taking care of Aleksander and just about everything in the house as well, I feel that I am making our house a home. I take a lot of pride in that job. Although I admit I get frustrated by having to do the same household chores over and over again, in the end I really like the idea that I am making a lovely home for my family. I like the idea of making things easier on my hard-working husband. And of course, I like being the one who gets to take care of Aleksander, too.

So until I – or someone else – comes up with a better term, I’m going to start calling myself a homemaker.

Question: Do you have any suggestions for this job description?

P.S. — I don’t mean to imply that you working mothers don’t do all these household chores as well! Maybe we need a new term for the “working mother” too!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 10:58:47

    Hi Kate! Guess who:)
    ah yes, the drudgery of “running” a household, I get completely overwhelmed sometimes by the sheer repetitiveness of it. Sometimes the idea of doing laundry AGAIN (b/c it somehow increases exponentially with each kid) or making one more peanut butter and jelly sandwich or helping the boys brush their teeth which results in a fight every. single. night. about space on the stool is enough to push me over the edge.

    And it really is about much more than “taking care of kids” If all I had to do was make sure my kids were taken care of there really would be a lot more time for eating bons bons and laying about. But the grocery shopping, laundry, meal planning, cooking and cleaning all take a lot of time. Add in the really tight budget we’ve had since Bryan lost is job in ’09 and it really does make for quite a job. I am ever so lucky that Bryan takes care of doing all the bills on the computer (really- I don’t think we’ve written a check in years!) and helps out a ton with the kids as well as doing outside yard stuff. He would probably help more but honestly, I really do like doing the meal planning and cooking. The laundry, meh, neither of us like but it gets done.

    I think that any parent worth their salt also has to be a “homemaker” and take care of household stuff. Sometimes I feel bad when the boys see me stressed out over getting to the grocery store or doing yet another load of laundry but I also hope I am instilling in them the idea that laundry does not just appear clean in their drawers nor meals magically cook themselves, it takes work and planning. Also, I hope to teach them the skills to do these things for themselves. And we are getting there…Lucas can almost reach the “start” button for the washer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

