What a Prince!

Sometimes I get into a snit about all the things I have to do around the house  . . .  again. How many times will I empty the dishwasher, make dinner, do the laundry, clean up the house, take out the garbage … and, and, and? All this and more in addition to taking care of Aleksander! It’s overwhelming at times. I don’t know if I realized that my decision to stay home with my kids meant taking care of everything in the house, too. When did that become part of the bargain?

And just when I’m feeling particularly (and unreasonably) annoyed, my prince of a husband does some little (and wonderful) thing to help out and remind me that we are indeed in this together!

PER was sick this past week with a bad cold and fever, so it was just like a week when he’s traveling. That is, I had full-time Aleksander-duty. I moved into the guest room, so we could both get a decent night’s sleep. He finally felt better by the weekend. Before moving back upstairs, though, I wanted the sheets and duvet cover to be washed. But when?! I had to teach Saturday morning, and we had a birthday party that afternoon. When I got home from teaching, I was so surprised to see the bed completely stripped! The sheets were already washed and in the dryer! When did my Prince have time to do that?! It may sound like a little thing, but it meant an awful lot to me.

My Prince is always doing things like that. Just when I think I can’t take it anymore, he swoops in to my rescue, taking care of some “insignificant” but ever-recurring chore in the house. (It’s usually cleaning up the kitchen.) He puts in a lot of time with Aleksander, too. Sometimes I don’t know how he does it all. He works so hard at his job and yet, when he gets home, he jumps right in. He doesn’t even ask for that 10-minute buffer period before being handed the baby!

So why am I telling you all this? Because it is so easy to forget what an amazing partner I have. It’s so easy to blame him for the messy house (usually more my own doing!) or some other thing that is annoying me. But every time I go down that loathsome road, I only end up loathing myself for going there. So I’m trying to focus on all the wonderful things my Prince does. I’m trying to appreciate him more and more. It’s amazing how paying attention to all the positive aspects in him somehow magically makes any frustrations just disappear! And in the end, I’m so much happier for it. 🙂

Question: What do you do to avoid taking your frustrations out on your spouse?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Patsie McCandless
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 10:28:58

    Your PER is a Prince – and always remember that you are his Princess – keep that tiara on – even when the daily chores are trying to knock it off!
    You are doing a wonderful job.
    I love this blog and imagine that it is wonderful for others to read and be inspired!
    Sparkle on …
    Patsie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

