Guilt, Be Gone!

Yesterday I got the best pedicure I’ve ever had! No kidding. I think the foot & leg massage lasted a half hour. By the time it was over, I almost felt like I’d had a full-body massage. I was so relaxed. It was amazing!

But as I sat down in the chair at the beginning of the pedicure, I couldn’t help feeling guilty. There I was being pampered, while a babysitter was at home taking care of Aleksander, and my husband was off on yet another business trip. He works so hard to provide for us. Sure, I teach Saturday mornings, but even that is for me and not at all for the pittance I’m paid. So I felt guilty that I was taking time out of the day for the indulgence of a pedicure.

As I sat in the big leather massage chair, I had to convince myself that I had no reason to feel guilty. That I deserved this luxury.

Okay, so I don’t really contribute financially to our household. But there are other, equally important ways to contribute! I have the full-time, almost 24/7 job of taking care of our son. As my wonderful husband pointed out to me recently, I don’t ever get to leave my job at the office at the end of the day. Sometimes there is just no escaping it. Though I love being home with Aleksander, it can be physically and emotionally draining sometimes. And as I’ve said before, if I am drained of all my inner resources, I have nothing to give back to him – or to my husband.

This week, PER is traveling, and so I really am on full-time Aleksander-duty. All the more reason to take a break!

By the time the pedicure was finished, I was so relaxed, I didn’t have room left for any guilt! But the true benefits of my outing became clear when I got home. Aleksander was so happy, and we were so happy to see each other! The new sitter did a wonderful job with him. (Yay! She’s coming back next week.) The rest of our day was great, too. He even woke up happy from his second nap! Usually around the time when he wakes up is when my gas tank is on empty. But we both felt great. We played and laughed and had a wonderful evening.

I’m sure I’ll fall into the guilt-trap again. But I hope I remember the lesson I learned from this amazing pedicure. I am worth it, and we all benefit when I take good care of myself!

Question: What are your “guilty pleasures” and are you ready to feel less guilty about them?

Leave a Reply

