Ah, to Sleep!

I really like sleep. And I really like to sleep in.

Enter: Aleksander.

Sleep? … I’m sorry… what is that again???

Okay, I’m not so sleep-deprived anymore. But those first few moths were killer. I never knew babies ate every 2 – 3 hours, even at night! I now know why sleep deprivation is used as a torture device. It really is torturous! As I’ve mentioned before, every meltdown I’ve had since Aleksander was born occurred when I was overtired. I just can’t function when I haven’t had enough sleep. But did I nap when he napped? Of course not! There was too much to do. Or at least I thought there was.

But really – what is more important than taking care of yourself? I’ve said it before, but it bears repeating: you can’t take care of anyone else if you don’t take care of yourself.

The next time around (assuming #2 is somewhere in our future), I am going to make sure I nap every day. I’ll do whatever it takes! Sleep when the baby sleeps, get a babysitter to watch the kids while I sleep, nap when my husband gets home from work. I’ll do anything! A mere 20 or 30 minutes can work miracles.

As for now, I try to at least relax during one (or sometimes both) of Aleksander’s naps. I also try to get to bed at a reasonable hour. Both of these points are especially important for me when PER is traveling, and I’m on 24/7 baby duty.

The other night I stayed up several hours past my usual bedtime. (Why? Well, I was working on my blog, of course!) Even as I was doing it, I knew it was a bad idea. But I kept writing anyway. By the time I was finished, my eyes were so bleary, I could hardly read the text on my screen. Was my blog even making any sense? Too tired to tell.

The next morning, I almost felt hungover (not that I really remember what that feels like!). Ugh!! Why did I do it? What was I thinking?! As inspired as I am to keep writing for this blog, it really wasn’t worth it. I could have easily written that entry the next day. As it was, I was too tired to get much of anything done the next day anyway.

Another lesson learned: I will get to bed at a reasonable hour!!

Question: Do you get enough sleep? Do you nap during the day?

Leave a Reply

